Skip to content

Banana Crumb Muffins

September 2, 2010

So I had the day off today and I decided to go on a mini baking spree. Not crazy just mini….like me! I had 3 brownish naners left and something just had to be done.  I am tired of the same old Banana Bread, don’t get me wrong I LOVE it but I just needed something different.  Thus, the Banana Crumb Muffin!  I have never made anything “crumb” before…so what the heck… I decided to give it a whirl! and again- Delish!  they are soft and moist but have that great nice crumb topping…equal balance perfecto muffin of goodness! You will not regret making these if you enjoy Bananas!

Banana Crumb Muffins

Adapted from AllRecipes

You will need:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour – (I used half Whole Wheat and half All-Purpose)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 bananas, mashed
3/4 cup white sugar – (I used Splenda)
1 egg, lightly beaten – (Eggbeaters)
1/3 cup butter, melted

Crumb Topping:
1/3 cup packed brown sugar – (I used Brown Sugar Splenda)
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon butter

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease 10 muffin cups, or line with muffin papers.

2. In a large bowl, mix together 1 1/2 cups flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

3. In another bowl, beat together bananas, sugar, egg and melted butter. Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.

4. In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal. Sprinkle topping over.

5. Bake in preheated oven for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

This recipe is very versatile and you can add anything else you want like walnuts, pecans, blueberries, etc.  You can add more cinnamon if you’re obsessed with it like me or you can add more bananas if you want a more flavorful muffin.. Either way- YUMMY!

One Comment leave one →
  1. David Rohloff permalink
    September 7, 2010 1:41 pm

    As official taste tester, I have to say, these turned out amazing!

Leave a Reply

