Skip to content

Salsa del Norte

September 2, 2010
tags:

I know I know… what the heck?  Not baking…but really good salsa nonetheless! I made this and it tastes delish all warmed up with some fresh tortilla chips!  My other half annihilated it– but that is not surprising as salsa is his other love in life.. i think besides nachos… Anyways… the reason I made this was because of the MASS abundance of tomatoes we had this year! I mean the garden is and still is still exploding with tomatoes… so this was my way to use up some of that lot….try it… sooo good!

Salsa del Norte

Adapted from Use Real Butter

What you need:

1 1/2 lbs. whole Roma or Italian plum tomatoes- unpeeled

1/2 medium onion, chunked

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro – (I omitted this because I don’t care for it).

2-3 fresh jalapeño peppers – (I used a can of diced chiles).

2 garlic cloves

1 1/2 tsps salt

2-3 tbsps vinegar or cider

pinch of sugar (optional)

Directions:

1. Heat broiler. Place tomatoes on a small baking sheet lined with foil.

2. Broil 15-18 minutes, turning a couple of times until soft and skins split. There should be some dark spots.

3. Let the tomatoes cool a bit.

4. Put the whole tomatoes in a blender with the rest of the ingredients and purée.

5. Serve warm or refrigerate for later use.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

